BEER
Beer is ubiquitous at almost any party. However, beer is usually produced by fermenting starches - usually cereal grains - which obviously can cause a huge problem for folks who are gluten free. Because most beers are made from barley and wheat, it means that there are a lot out there that aren't safe. But, there's great news: There are a lot of gluten free beers! Here's a list, courtesy of http://www.glutenfreedietfoods.com/beer_list.html. Their list was updated in late November 2012, so the information is pretty current.
- Anheuser-Busch Redbridge: Redbridge Beer is
made from sorghum and is gluten free.
- Bard’s
Tale Beer: Sorghum, yeast, hops and water. Contains no wheat,
barley, rye or oats and is naturally gluten-free
- Billabong Brewery: Australia's Pale Ale,
Blonde, Ginger Beer and Apple Beer.
- Brauerei Grieskirchen AG - Beer Up
Glutenfrei Pale Ale.
- Carlsberg Breweries: Saxon lager beer is
less than 20 ppm gluten and has been given permission to use the Gluten
Free Logo by The Finnish Coeliac Society.
- Estrella Damm Brewery:
Estrella Daura, a gluten free lager made from barley malt. World Beer Award
(Gluten Free) 2008 and 2009 winner.
- Glutaner:
Glutaner Premium, sorghum-based gluten-free, crisp, malty Extra Blond
Belgian Pils.
- Green’s Gluten Free Beers: Green's makes a
variety of brews, all Gluten Free.Koff: Koff Light Beer
contains less gluten than 2 mg/100 ml.
- Hambleton’s Ale GFA and GFL: Nick Stafford
brews Hambleton’s Gluten Free Ale and Gluten Free Lager
- Laitilan Finland: Laitilan's Kukko Pils.
Most of the Kukko beers are also gluten free
- Lakefront
Brewery: New Grist is brewed from sorghum, hops, water, rice
and gluten-free yeast grown on molasses.
- Liebharts Residenz: Gold glutenfrei, Residenz
Bio-Reis-Gold dunkel glutenfrei, and Residenz Bio-Ingwer-Gold glutenfrei.
- Les Bières de la Nouvelle-France - La
Messagère and Messagère Red Ale. La Messagère is widely available
gluten-free beer in North America.
- O'Brien
Brewing - Australia's first gluten free beer.
Products include O'Brien Brown Ale, Premium Large and Pale Ale.
- New Planet Beer Company: Tread Lightly Ale
is a great balanced beer made from fermented sorghum and corn, hops and
yeast.
- Ramapo Valley Brewery: Passover Honey Lager
is a unique honey-based, gluten free. This beer is Kosher certified.
- Schnitzer
Brau: Gluten free and organic.
- Scotts
Brewing Co.
- Sprecher Brewery: Shakparo Ale is a West
African Shakparo-style beer brewed from sorghum and millet.
- St. Peters Brewery - G-Free™ and Winter
Ale
- Woodchuck
Draft Cider: Amber, 802 Dark & Dry, Granny Smith, Pear, and
Raspberry.
But, just as with any other food or drink you're unsure of, if you have questions, read the labels and remember that google is your friend. Almost every town or city has at least one little gem of a store that carries a magical selection of beers, and wines (and spirits depending on your state's liquor laws) and hopefully, there will be some gluten free beers available for you on the shelf at your favorite place.
**A Note on Malt Beverages** - There's been some recent kerfluffle about malt beverages, specifically Mike's Hard Lemonade. Their website claims that their Lite Lemonade, and Lite Cranberry are gluten free. From my not-at-all-scientific research, which involved reading several blog posts and the comments following, it appears that some folks with Celiac have ingested without reaction, while some folks with just gluten intolerance have had reactions to these products. According to the company, the products are tested below 5ppm, which is well under the limit of 20ppm needed to be considered gluten free. But, the word MALT is in the product. It is a MALT beverage, and that alone makes a lot of folks who are GF steer clear. Use your own judgement with these products.
Wine
Usually MY beverage of choice. I never really got used to the taste of beer, but I used to drink malt beverages pretty frequently when I wanted something cheap. But, I really love wine. I love reds, and whites, and pinks, and pretty much whatever. I've met a few I didn't like, but I never discriminate based on color. The great thing is that wine is, because wine is made from fermented grapes (and sometimes other fruits) it's inherently gluten free. There are a few notes of caution for those who are extremely sensitive. Some wineries (usually European) sometimes use a gluten based paste to seal the oak barrels in which the wine is aged. Additionally, some wineries use gluten in their fining process when they clarify the wine. However, usually another protein is used. The practices of using the gluten paste, and gluten to clarify are NOT universal in the wine making process and are definitely the exception, rather than the rule. Because of the functions of the gluten on the rare occasions when it is used, the ppm is usually below 10. If that makes you feel uncomfortable, feel free to google, e-mail, or call whoever you need to in order to feel sure about your decision. Just know that almost all wines do not employ gluten in their making process.
Spirits/Liqueurs
These are unsweetened, distilled beverages, very commonly known as liquor or hard liquor, (which is not to be confused with liqueur). Things like brandy, fruit brandy, gin, rum, tequilla, vodka and whiskey are spirits. Because spirits can be distilled from fruits, grains and vegetables, there are some that are safe for folks who are gluten free, and some that are not. Liqueurs are sweetened distilled beverages that have been sweetened with things like fruits, nuts, spices, creams, flowers and other flavorings. Some of them are safe for those who are gluten free and some are not. The following is a not-at-all comprehensive list:
- Bourbon - Makers Mark
- Brandy
- Cognac - made from grapes.
- Gin
- Grappa
- Kahlua
- Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
- Margarita Mix:
- Jose Cuervo.
- Mr. & Mrs. T.
- Martini:
- Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape).
- Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape).
- Mead - distilled from honey.
- Mistico:
- Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave and cane).
- Mixes & Cooking Alcohol:
- Club Tom Collins (corn).
- Dimond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery.
- Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes.
- Mr. & Mrs. T - all Except Bloody Mary Mix.
- Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White.
- Ouzo - made from grapes and anise.
- Rum**
- Sake - fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
- Scotch Whiskey
- Sherry
- Sparkling Wine
- Tequila
- Vermouth - distilled from grapes.
- Vodka**
- Whiskey - Jack Daniels
- Wine - all wines, including port wines and sherry, are safe for celiacs.
- Wine Coolers:
- Bartle & James - their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages - read the label carefully!).
- Boones - their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages - read the label carefully!)
There are a lot of alcohols that are safe to drink, and a lot of mixed drink possibilities for folks who are gluten free! Just remember to use your best judgement, and e-mail, facebook or google your way to the answers you're looking for when you're in doubt!
Enjoy responsibly!
No comments:
Post a Comment